British Council Creative Economy

Menu Show search

18 May 2020

Communities of a New Future - A series of creative hub conversations

Communities of a New Future is a three-part gathering for creative hub managers and community leaders from Southeast Asia and the UK.

Hubs for Good Forum, Malaysia, 2019

The global escalation of the Covid-19 pandemic has changed the way we live, learn, communicate and work. Sectors across the board have seen many disruptions, and the culture and creative industries have not been spared. For creative hubs and their communities the current crisis has brought along more challenges: from the closing of physical shared spaces, to the limitation of all live gatherings, the indefinite halt on travel, a forced push towards digitalisation, and a steep deterioration of creatives’ livelihoods, among others.

In light of this new reality, we are organising a series of online conversations for creative hubs, exploring the great uncertainties brought about by the global pandemic and how different parts of the world have tackled these. By connecting creative hub leaders from Southeast Asia and the UK, we want to encourage mutual learning and exchange of ideas, as well as imagine what creative hubs could look like in the future.

The three Communities of a New Future fora will be hosted online between May and July 2020, each exploring the short, medium and long term horizon for creative hubs globally:

1. Inspiring resilience

What short term response from creative hubs?

28 May 2020, 9.00 am London/ 3pm Jakarta & Bangkok / 4pm Manila & Kuala Lumpur.

2. Lessons on Digital transformation

How can organisations transform and stay relevant in a changed, uncertain world?

25 June 2020, 9.00 am London/ 3pm Jakarta & Bangkok / 4pm Manila & Kuala Lumpur.

3. Reimagining the Future 

What is the new long-term vision for creative hubs?

23 July 2020, 9.00 am London/ 3pm Jakarta & Bangkok / 4pm Manila & Kuala Lumpur.

The events will feature panel conversations, case studies and break out sessions with hub leaders from the 5 countries, and will be moderated by British Council and our local partners. The conversations will be recorded, with the objective of publishing them as podcasts after the events. We are also aiming to produce a series of thought pieces stemming from the conversations.

We are inviting participants to register for the events. The registration for the second forum will open soon.

Registration is mandatory as there is a limited number of participants for each session. The information in the registration form will also feed into the content of the conversations. The conversations will be held in English, so a minimum working knowledge of the language is required. 

For further information on the events, please contact:
For the UK: Roxana Apostol
For the Philippines: Malaya del Rosario
For Malaysia: Florence Lambert
For Indonesia: Camelia Harahap
For Thailand: Patcharawee Tunprawat