Creative Entrepreneurship: News

YCE Media Award Finalists Announced

Fifteen innovative media entrepreneurs from 13 counties around the world have been selected for our YCE Media 2011 award.

The award finds the brightest stars in the world of international media, from film and TV to interactive entertainment, games, marketing and social media.

Participants range from a producer in Buenos Aires running the first company in the region dedicated to digital and interactive magazines, to a Tallinn mobile app start-up, the entrepreneur behind Indonesia's most prominent online communities focused at the female audience, a Beirut-based Cannes Lion D'or winning digital marketing specialist , an Indian interactive software development agency, a Mexican producer who helped set up Cha Cha Cha films with Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu, Guillermo del Toro - and many more.

All the winners will visit the UK from 10-20  October for a programme of meetings which aims to help them better understand, and build connections, with the UK media and digital industries.  Some of the highlights from this year's programme include a Masterclass with Ajaz Ahmed, founder and chairman of AKQA, the world's most awarded digital agency; meetings with Justin Cooke (CEO of BIMA), Dusan Hamlin (joint CEO of M&C Saatchi Mobile) and Nigel Cross (Industry Development Manager at the BFI);  a roudtable meeting about support to the UK interactive media sector with Andrew Humphries of TechCity and Sam Michel, Director of Chinwag; a session on the developer community in London at TechHub with Ade Oshineye of Google and Kevin McDonagh of Novoda; visits to some of the most exciting digital agencies based in East London, including Lessrain and Moving Brands; and several conferences and events alongside the London Film Festival Industry Programme.

Read the full YCE Media Awards 2011 UK Tour programme here.   And lots of updates on our facebook and twitter pages direct from the tour!

Find  out more about this year's winners:

Argentina - Damian Kirzner

Bahrain - Aisha Almuqla

Colombia - Martin Giraldo

Estonia - Jaana Metsamaa

India - Titash Neogi & Pranav Ashar

Indonesia - Affi Assegaf & Arvin Miracelova

Lebanon - Marc Dfouni

Lithuania - Jurga Sakalauskaite

Mexico - Priscila Amescua Mendez

Russia - Stanislav Sazhin

Slovenia - Sara Bozanic

Syria - Mohammad Monaf

Thailand - Nattapol (Joe) Suphawong